Posted by: kurunner | September 26, 2009

Weekly Weigh-In

I must admit, I’ve been terrified to step on the scale lately.  My last weigh-in was 3 weeks ago, and since then my diet has taken a turn for the worse.  I had been craving fruit and yogurt.  Now, it’s Pringles and cake decorations.  I’ve eaten out in the past few weeks more than I have in the past few months.  I’ve stopped at the commissary almost everyday to pick up cheesecake, donuts, ice cream, chocolate, pepperoni, and candy.  I’ve still been going to the gym, but I haven’t been tracking my food.  I would like to think all of this is pregnancy related, but honestly, it’s not really that different from how I was eating two years ago sans bun in the oven.

Ideally, I wanted to gain 21 lbs.  I would be okay with gaining 34.  Thirty-four pounds would put me back to the 200 mark, and I’m really not okay with going over 200, even while pregnant.

I sucked it up and stepped on the scale after a 3 week hiatus…  183.  Ouch.  It’s not as bad as I expected, but that’s not saying much since I thought it would be more of a 10 lb gain.  Four pounds in 3 weeks isn’t unreasonable for a pregnant woman in her second trimester, but that leaves me with only 4 lbs left for another 19 weeks.  Not going to happen.  My second and third trimester weight gain goals are about half a pound a week.  Even if I was able to stick to that, I would need to gain another 10 lbs.  Which again, I’m okay with…  the problem is…

Pregnant bodies are dumb.  Apparently, growing a fetus means that the whole calories in, calories out thing doesn’t apply anymore.  There were weeks where my diet was PERFECT.  Dairy, fruits, veggies, water.  My calories were spot on.  Then I would step on the scale and gain 5 lbs.  Weeks when I was living on McDonalds, not getting enough water, and craving sweets I would actually lose.  So it’s really hard to convince myself that my weight will be fine as long as I eat healthy.  I could do everything “right” and still wind up gaining 50 lbs with this pregnancy.

Don’t get me wrong; I would never diet while I was pregnant.  My first concern is that the baby gets what she needs and grows.  It’s just hard to block out the weight loss mentality when you’ve been so concerned about a number on the scale for the better part of a decade.

Previous weight:  179.2 lbs (18 weeks pregnant)

Current weight:  183.0 lbs (21 weeks pregnant)

Change:  +3.8 lbs

Total pregnancy gain:  17.4 lbs

Leave a Reply

Categories

