Posted by: kurunner | October 5, 2009

Weekend Recap

Such a full weekend, I’m not even sure where to begin!

First up — my weekly weigh-in.  Yikes!  I’m up 2.2 lbs from last week which I just don’t understand.  I tracked my calories, and while my choices weren’t 100% healthy, I really was expecting a smaller number.  I’m trying not to focus on the number, but being a hormonal pregnant woman…  well, I’ll just let you imagine what the scale can do to me.  This week, I’m going to aim for an average of about 2100 calories and see what happens since apparently 2400 cal/day is too high.  Although, to point out how crazy the calories in, calories out, pregnancy weight gain thing is — a 2.2 lbs gain is equal to 1100 excess calories a day.  There is no way that a pregnant, almost 200 lb active woman can live on 1300 calories.

After the disappointing weigh-in, Jason and I took Scout out on a walk.  I get nervous about leaving Kaelin at the house while we walk around the neighborhood, but it was nice to have some one-on-one time with him.  We walked for about an hour and I managed to work up a decent sweat trying to keep up with Scout.

Next up — shopping!  This is the first year we’ve had a yard to decorate so we decided to go do our Halloween shopping this weekend.  I’m going to be crafting a graveyard, but since we are on a budget, I’ll be doing most of it from scratch instead of buying the premade decorations.  First, we stopped at Starbucks.  Fortunately, it’s a bit of a drive to find any coffee shop, but I really wanted a pumpkin and cream cheese muffin to start off the day.  They didn’t have my Salted Caramel hot chocolate yet, so I got one of their regulars.  Let me say, I was disappointed.  Since we don’t have any coffee shops around, I’ve been making my own hot chocolate.  Mine is so much richer and less sugary for less calories.  Then the muffin was good, but not nearly as good as I remember it being from last year when I was eating them for breakfast everyday.  I did find a “healthy” recipe online so I’ll see if I can make them myself.  It wasn’t a total loss though, because now I’m not dreaming about the Starbucks that I’m missing.

We wound up going to Target, Wal-Mart, AC Moore and the Dollar Store.  I got some great stuff, but boy was I tired and swollen.  We stopped for lunch at Longhorn Steakhouse for a bit of a rest.  We rarely go to sit-down restaurants and I hadn’t been to Longhorn since we moved from Kansas 18 months ago, so it was a big treat.  Thankfully, I wasn’t starving since I had my Starbucks snack and I even managed to pass on bread and dessert.  I was really wanting a margarita; I’ve never been to Longhorn without getting one, but obviously that was out of the question.  I ordered salmon and veggies with a salad, and it was delicious.  Overall, only 530 calories… much less than Starbucks!  I love that Longhorn has nutritional information up online!

After our shopping trip, we went to the library and then to the free movie on base.  I waited until we got home to have a snack instead of buying candy while we were out, but I had popcorn and M&Ms at the movie.  Overall, it was about a 3000 calorie day.

Sunday, we had more shopping to do, then I spent the day painting crosses and ghosts followed by a nice afternoon of football.  Any day when the Redskins win and the Cowboys lose is a good day for me!  Jason grilled and made french fries, while I steamed some veggies.  Of course, he had a couple of beers and I almost pounced him.  I’m not a big drinker, but I think there is something about the mentality that I CAN’T have a drink that’s making me want one, so I had to settle for a soda.

This morning, I woke up and have just been in a funk all day.  It’s gray and rainy outside, and I was still tired so I went back to sleep after I took Kaelin to school instead of going to gym.  I’m having cravings, but I’m trying to resist until lunch.  Maybe it will be an early lunch today.

I hope that everyone else had an amazing October weekend!

Leave a Reply

Categories

