Posted by: kurunner | November 9, 2009

Yikes, How Long Has it Been?

It’s been almost 3 weeks since I’ve posted.  Actually, let’s be honest… it’s been almost three weeks since I’ve taken any sort of active interest in my health and weight.

First of all, the bedrest.  I had my appointment on Thursday and I’m no longer confined to my house.  In fact, the doctor I had this time told me I should never have been on bedrest anyways.  I guess that’s what happens when you go to a practice with more than one doctor.  So, um, yay!  (And what the hell have I been doing laying on the couch for three weeks?)

In addition to the bedrest, I had a terrible cold that turned into bronchitis.  Of course it was viral, and there was nothing they could do for it other than the typical rest and fluids.  I finally kicked it and felt great for a few days, but then on Friday, just as I was clear to go back to the gym, Jason so lovingly gave me ANOTHER cold.  Yes, I know you can work out with a cold, but my energy was zapped.  It’s also hard to do cardio when you can’t breathe and I don’t want to be that person at the gym coughing all over everything.  I was all set to go to the gym this morning, but now Kaelin is home sick and the gym is eluding me again.

I don’t know if it was the bedrest, the cold or just Halloween, but I’ve been eating like crap.  I didn’t keep a food journal most of the time and when I did, I was averaging like 4000 calories – most of it junk.  Did I mention that the commissary is already stocking Christmas candy?

But it’s ok…  I have a plan!

1.  Get back to tracking.  Whether I like to write down the can of Pringles or bag of candy I inhaled, my body know I what I ate.

2.  Drink, drink, and drink!  I’ve been slacking in the water department when I need it the most.  Between being sick and going into the third trimester, I have to make sure I’m getting at LEAST 8 cups of fluids.

3.  No more diet soda.  Before I got pregnant, I rarely had any sort of diet drink, but a few months ago I started having headaches and the doctor recommended adding a cup of coffee or soda into my diet.  Since I don’t drink coffee, I started having a daily Red Bull (sugar-free).  Of course, that daily Red Bull turned into two Red Bulls and a Diet Coke.  Diet soda is bad.  It has no nutritional value, it leaches calcium from your body, and it makes you crave sweets.

4.  Limit my fast food.  I’ve been eating out way too much and not only is it affecting my health, it’s hurting my wallet.  Jason and I have decide to limit ourselves to twice a week.

Leave a Reply

Categories

