Posted by: kurunner | March 28, 2010

Recovery Week

Tomorrow starts recovery week.  I have to admit that I’m a bit nervous about not lifting for a whole week.  The general consensus is that you should take a break from your routine every couple of months or so, but it seems a little early since we’ve only been doing P90X for 3 weeks. 

I snuck a peek at my measurements this morning — down an inch of my hips and an inch and a half of my waist.  I don’t do my “official” P90X pictures until next week though.  I’m not sure how much of a difference there will be since the program is designed to see results after the second month, but not so much after the first.  When I look at Jason, I see a difference, but I can’t really tell any physical changes in myself yet.  I’m down almost 7 lbs, I think, and some inches, but I don’t really look different.  Maybe I’ll wake up on Day 90 with rippling muscles.  Ha!  Of course, I started the program with a good chunk of weight to lose whereas Jason only has about 10 lbs or so.  At least my muscles will be chiseled by the time I lose 50 lbs or so.

My eating has been a gazillion times better than it was a month ago.  I’ve reigned in my sweet tooth and we haven’t been eating out nearly as much.  I had a Milky Way yesterday (which I was eating pretty much daily after Harper was born) and it tasted weird… way too sweet.  I’ve been eating chocolate, but when I do, it’s higher quality dark chocolate.  It’s a nice (and strange) change not to be craving sweets ALL the time.  Now, to kick my Red Bull addiction.  When we moved a few months ago, I went three weeks without a drop touching my lips, but I’ve really been relying on caffeine since we came home from the hospital.  I wonder if I’ll ever sleep more than 3 hours at a time again.

I’ve also decided not to sign up for the 2010 Marine Corps Marathon.  First, Jason starts 60-84 hour work weeks in April, and there’s almost no way for him to fit a long run into his schedule.  I could always run it without him, but I really want him by my side.  Then, I have to admit, I’m nervous.  I’m pretty sure I could go from my current 0 miles a week to running a marathon in less than 7 months, but I’m worried about my time.  It’s stupid because first time marathoners aren’t supposed to have a number in their head.  The goal is supposed to be just to finish. 

But I don’t want my first marathon time to suck.

Yeah, I’m letting my ego get in the way here, but I can’t help it.  Plus, I’m planning on running the 2011 Kansas Marathon in Lawrence.  I haven’t been back “home” since I moved to Virginia a couple of years ago.  I’m dying to see my friends and some of my former professors.  Also, Lawrence has some of the most kick-ass food I’ve ever had.  I plan on taking a week of vacation and enjoying the town.

Another thing:  I’m really not looking forward to running a marathon while breastfeeding.  It’s messy and painful enough as it is.

Responses

  1. It sounds to be like you are doing great. I wish I had the motivation to workout. I enjoy going to the gym but I wish I had someone to go with on occasion so it wouldnt be so boring. Kepp up the good work.

    • The thing I like most about P90X is that you don’t have to go to the gym. I HATE going to the gym with someone (other than Tim) because if I’m going to go to the gym, I’m going to work my ass off. If Jason goes with me, we wind up talking to much.


Leave a Reply

Categories

