Posted by: kurunner | April 12, 2010

Hello, 5:00 AM

As I was lying in bed this morning, I was mentally writing today’s post.  It started something like this:

“I feel like a failure.  My workout clothes are neatly laid out, my shoes are at the door, and my iPod is charged, but I just can’t do it.  I can’t get dressed and go run.  I’m tired.  It’s early.  I didn’t sleep well.  The baby was up less than an hour ago to nurse.  It’s cold.  It’s dark.  I’ll do it tonight.”

Screw that.  I got up, put my shoes on, and ran. 

It wasn’t long.  It wasn’t fast.  It wasn’t far.  But I did it. 

The feeling of accomplishing something, something that is hard and that most people don’t do (I mean, really…  how many runners are out there at 5:00 AM compared to 5:00 PM?), is so much better than an extra 9 minutes of sleep.

Hello, 5:00 AM.  I kicked your ass today.  See you Wednesday!

Leave a Reply

Categories

